Speaker of the House and Committee on Committees Climate Council Appointments

23 October 2020

Speaker Mitzi Johnson and Lt. Governor David Zuckerman, on behalf of the Senate Committee on Committees, are pleased to announce the following appointments to the Vermont Climate Council. This is the newly formed body under Act 153 of 2020, the Global Warming Solutions Act.

Speaker of the House Appointees:

A. one member with expertise and professional experience in the design and implementation of programs to reduce greenhouse gas emissions:

    Richard Cowart, Calais, Regulatory Assistance Project

B. one member to represent rural communities:

    Catherine Dimitruk, Fairfax, Northwest Regional Planning Commission

C. one member to represent the municipal governments:

    Chris Campany, Newfane, Windham Regional Commission

D. one member to distribution utilities:

    Liz Miller, Burlington, Green Mountain Power

E. one member to represent a statewide environmental organization:

    Johannah Miller, Montpelier, Vermont Natural Resources Council

F. one member to represent the fuel sector:

    Michael Schmell, South Pomfret, Junction Fuels

G. one member with expertise in climate change science:

    Lesley-Ann Dupigny-Giroux, South Burlington, Vermont State Climatologist, UVM Professor of Climate and Climate Change 

H. one member to represent Vermont manufacturers:

    Adam Knudsen, Shelburne, Dynapower

Committee on Committees Appointees:

A. one member with expertise in the design and implementation of programs to increase resilience to and respond to natural disasters resulting from climate change: 

Lauren Oates,  East Montpelier, The Nature Conservancy

B. one member to represent the clean energy sector:

              Chad Farrell, Burlington, Encore Renewable Energy

C. one member to represent the small business community:

Kelly Klein, St. Albans, Groennfell Meadery

D. one member to represent the Vermont Community Action Partnership:

Sue Minter, Waterbury, Capstone Community Actions

E. one member to represent the farm and forest sector:

Abbie Corse, Whitingham, The Corse Farm Dairy

F. one youth member:

              Sophia Clark, Hyde Park

G. one member of a Vermont-based organization with expertise in energy and data analysis: 

Jared Duval, Montpelier, Energy Action Network

The Climate Council is required to develop a Climate Action Plan that sets forth the proposed programs and strategies to meet reductions set forth in Act No. 153 and to build resilience to the impacts of climate change.

Speaker Johnson and Lt. Governor Zuckerman (on behalf of the Committee on Committees), thank the many well-qualified Vermonters who sent letters and recommendations to serve on the newly formed Climate Council. “It’s great that so many Vermonters with so much expertise are willing to serve our state for this critically important issue for our future,” said Lt. Governor Zuckerman.

Contact Information

Office of the Lieutenant Governor
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont 05633
Office: (802) 828-2226
Cell: (802) 622-4136
Email the Lieutenant Governor

Deb Wolf
Click here for Public Records Database

Connect with us:

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
RSS icon